Share this post

Rob Zombie, Alice Cooper, Ministry, and Filter. Freaks on Parade Tour 2023
By Chaz Dykes of Chaz D Photography

Amidst the humid Florida night, the MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheatre transformed into a realm of electrifying darkness on August 26, 2023. Four titans of macabre and industrial rock – Rob Zombie, Alice Cooper, Ministry, and Filter – united under the banner of “Freaks on Parade Tour 2023.” This epic convergence of legendary acts left an indelible mark on every attendee lucky enough to witness the spectacle.

Filter’s Opening Act:
The evening commenced with Filter’s gripping performance, setting the stage with their signature blend of alternative and industrial rock. The crowd was treated to a passionate and energetic display as hits like “Hey Man Nice Shot” reverberated through the amphitheater. The band’s raw energy and charismatic stage presence instantly engaged the audience, igniting the anticipation for the night’s remaining acts.

Ministry’s Industrial Onslaught:
As the sun dipped below the horizon, Ministry took the stage like an apocalyptic force. Their industrial soundscapes and political undertones resonated with the eager audience. The relentless barrage of heavy riffs and pulsating beats created an otherworldly atmosphere that engulfed the amphitheater. Al Jourgensen’s gritty vocals, combined with the band’s uncompromising energy, delivered a sonic assault that left a lasting impact.

Alice Cooper’s Grandeur:
The master of shock rock himself, Alice Cooper, followed Ministry’s explosive set. In a seamless blend of eerie theatrics and timeless hits, Cooper transported the crowd into a world of macabre wonder. From his iconic guillotine act to the sinister storytelling of “Feed My Frankenstein,” Cooper’s performance was a captivating journey through the shadows of rock history. The crowd, entranced by his presence, sang along to classics like “No More Mr. Nice Guy” and “I’m Eighteen.” Cooper’s performance was a testament to his enduring legacy as a pioneer of theatrical rock.

Rob Zombie’s Haunting Spectacle:
As the night deepened, the stage underwent a transformation, preparing for the arrival of the man known for his fusion of horror aesthetics and hard-hitting rock – Rob Zombie. Accompanied by his band, Zombie emerged in a whirlwind of visual and sonic chaos. Hits like “Living Dead Girl” and “Dragula” sent shockwaves through the audience, their infectious energy making it impossible not to move along. The stage itself became a canvas for Zombie’s mesmerizing visuals, a nightmarish carnival that perfectly complemented the sonic onslaught.

A Grand Finale:
The concert reached its climax with Zombie and his band delivering an electrifying performance of “Thunder Kiss ’65,” while confetti rained down, lights danced, and the audience roared in unison, embodying the unity that music brings.
The “Freaks on Parade” 2023 tour was a Technicolor Macabre of Musical Mayhem, where each act pushed boundaries in a collision of theatrical horror and electrifying rock. Rob Zombie, Alice Cooper, Ministry, and Filter created a symphony of darkness and artistry that celebrated the beauty of chaos, the allure of the macabre, and the unifying power of rock music.

Now go out and see some Live Music!

Rob Zombie:
Alice Cooper